Praying When You Don’t Mean It

Every night before we end our prayers together, my husband and I recite this Scripture verse:

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

Some nights it is a really, really tough prayer to pray. Each night, hearing those words, reminds me of my short comings throughout the day. I know that some days my words and my meditations are not acceptable to the Lord. Some days, my words and my heart dwell in the negative, the hurtful, the judgmental, and the doubtful. In turn, some nights are left with a real challenge to let go of that drama. It is easier to stamp my foot, complain, and stay where I am rather than honestly invite God to change my perspective. Sometimes it is easier to vent than it is to praise God for the one thing that went right.

But spiritual growth follows praying the prayer you don’t mean…yet. So, starting right now, I won’t walk through the litany of disasters. Instead, I thank God for today’s bike ride that was beautiful and easy and fun. I ask him to make tomorrow’s words of my mouth and meditations of my heart acceptable, because tonight all I can do is rest in my Rock and my Redeemer.

Leave a Reply

