I’m not ignoring you.

This is an open letter to you.

When I smile and wave from across the room but don’t walk over, it’s not because I don’t want to talk to you.

When I ask how you’re doing and listen to your response while still moving forward, it’s not that I don’t care to hear the answer.

When we try to set a time to meet up and it takes three weeks to get on my schedule, it doesn’t mean that you are a low priority.

When we are texting back and forth and I disappear for an hour (or day) or two, it doesn’t mean that I don’t cherish catching up and having you as part of my support network.

This is what it means:

  • I care about what is happening in your life and want to make sure you know I see you. Your presence in my life matters, even if this moment is just our paths crossing.
  • I juggle. A lot. And I want you as part of my life even if it means that I have to get creative to make it happen with family and work responsibilities.
  • I’m trying to be more present to my God, my husband and my kids. I love you, pray for you often, and think of things to tell you even more often. I want to hang out with you. I want to talk about real things together. But when I don’t focus , when I push aside prayer, when I don’t be the wife and mother my family needs, things fall apart.

Thank you for being willing to take the random, little offerings of time and adventure that I can give now. You know I’ll rally for you anytime, even if our day-to-day isn’t always in sync.

And thank you, too, for sticking around to be there as I journey through the stages of life. Hopefully, I’ll strike the balance, be less distracted, and be blessed to be more present to you because I choose to prioritize “the better part” first. Until then, know that you are loved!luke10-one-thing

 

Leave a Reply

